Award Winners Announced!

The Social and Behavioral Research Council is delighted to announce the winners of its inaugural awards:

Junior Faculty Best Paper Award – (co-winners)

Aron Barbey (Speech and Hearing Science and Psychology) for “Distributed neural system for emotional intelligence revealed by lesion mapping”

Joseph Robinson (Educational Psychology) for “Bullying explains only part of LGBTQ-Heterosexual disparities: Implications for policy and practice.”

Mid Career Research Award – Edelyn Verona (Psychology, LAS)

Outreach and Policy Impact Award – Brian Quick (Communication, LAS) for his work on organ donation

Outstanding Educator Award – David Tewksbury (Communication, LAS)

Outstanding Career Achievement Award – Edward McAuley (Kinesiology and Community Health, AHS)

The first annual Social and Behavioral Awards ceremony will be Tuesday, April 23, 2013, from 4:00 PM-6:00 PM in the Illini Union Ballroom.  Please plan to attend!

We thank the following units for contributing to the success of the awards:  College of Agricultural, Consumer, and Environmental Sciences; College of Applied Health Sciences; Graduate College; College of Law; College of Liberal Arts and Sciences; University Libraries; School of Labor and Employment Relations; School of Literatures, Cultures and Linguistics; Institute of Government and Public Affairs; Department of Agricultural and Consumer Economics; Department of Anthropology; Department of Communication; Department of Educational Psychology; Department of Finance; Department of Geography and Geographic Information Science; Department of History; Department of Kinesiology and Community Health; Department of Political Science; Department of Psychology; Department of Recreation, Sport, and Tourism; Department of Sociology; Department of Urban and Regional Planning; European Union Center; Center for Global Studies; and LAS Global Studies.